14 June 2017

Priority partnership with the University of Sydney


The University of Copenhagen has entered into a three-year priority partnership with the University of Sydney. The agreement involves close collaboration on research, education and student exchange.

Today, the University of Copenhagen signed a priority partnership agreement with the University of Sydney. A priority partnership is a way of forging close global relations between leading research institutions. The partnership provides an opportunity for cross-disciplinary research collaboration and increased exchange programmes for students. It is the first time UCPH enters into a priority partnership at an institutional level.

Under the agreement, the two universities will each contribute an annual DKK 500,000 to a joint pool, which is to be used to support joint research and teaching activities. The partnership agreement runs for three years and will then be evaluated.

In on a trend

"With this partnership, the University of Copenhagen follows an international trend in the university sector of engaging in closer and more in-depth collaborations with select universities. We do this in order to reinforce our position in the competition for research funding and to find solutions together for the global challenges of the 21st century," says Rector Henrik C. Wegener of the University of Copenhagen.

"The University of Sydney is one Australia's leading universities, and both our universities have a long tradition for collaboration within research and education. That’s why it’s only natural that we have chosen Sydney as our first priority partner," says Rector Henrik C. Wegener, who co-signed the agreement on 13 June along with Professor Katherine Belov, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement) of the University of Sydney.

Visit from Sydney

A delegation from the University of Sydney is currently visiting UCPH to take the first steps of implementing the partnership and to see the formal agreement signed.

About the University of Sydney

The University of Sydney - also known as USYD or USyd - was established in 1850 as the first university in Australia.  USyd has approx. 60,000 students and 11,000 employees, of which  6,400 are academic staff. There are nine faculties: Arts and Social Sciences, Business, Dentistry, Engineering/IT, Health, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Science. The university is located in the centre of Sydney with campuses around the city.


Hedvig Gyde Thomsen
Senior Consultant
Education Services
Email: hgt@adm.ku.dk
Phone: + 45 35 32 38 98