21 November 2016

The University of Copenhagen joins strategic alliance

New network

The University of Copenhagen has been invited to join LERU, an exclusive European network of research universities. The membership gives the University more influence on decision-makers in the EU and even better opportunities to attract EU funds.

As the first Danish university, the University of Copenhagen will become a member of an exclusive European network of research universities, LERU (League of European Universities), on 1 January 2017. The aim is, among other things, that the University will become even better at obtaining research funding in the EU and internationally. LERU is a network of 23 leading research universities, which cooperate on education and research policy.  The University of Copenhagen now joins a club of universities such as the University of Cambridge, Universität Heidelberg, Lund University and the University of Oxford.

More influence in the EU
LERU is an exclusive alliance which only admits new members by invitation. In addition to sharing knowledge and experience, the member universities together can influence framework conditions for research and education. LERU is also an important spokesperson for European research universities in matters of European research, innovation and education policy - for example the negotiations about the future EU Research Framework Programme.

“The University has a strong tradition of international cooperation. The LERU network is an important step towards having more influence at EU level and being heard by decision-makers in Brussels. Our researchers are already quite skilled at obtaining research funds from the EU, however, we think that this alliance can make us even stronger. By working together, learning from and sharing knowledge with the other European universities we can heighten the impact of our research and educational activities in Denmark and globally,” Rector Ralf Hemmingsen says.

LERU admits members on the basis of an assessment of research quality, strength of PhD programmes, size and academic breadth as well as the University's recognition for academic excellence.

The 23 LERU universities:
University of Amsterdam, Universitat de Barcelona, University of Cambridge, University of Copenhagen, the University of Edinburgh, University of Freiburg, Université de Geneva, Universität Heidelberg, University of Helsinki, Universiteit Leiden, UCPH Leuven, Imperial College London, University College London, Lund University, the University of Milan, Ludwig-Maximilian -University of Munich, University of Oxford, Pierre & Marie Curie University, Université Paris-Sud , University of Strasbourg, Trinity College Dublin, Utrecht University, University of Zurich.


Director of communication
Jasper Steen Winkel
Phone: +45 28 75 42 62